It was in Zurich in June 1979 at a UNIDO development bank conference that AADFI, ADFIAP and ALIDE, jointly with KfW of Germany signed an agreement to establish the World Federation of Development Financing Institutions (WFDFI). Its first governors were Willi F. L. Engel of KfW, Frankfurt; René Amichia of AADFI, Ivory Coast; Tomás Pastoriza of ALIDE, Dominican Republic; and Vicente R. Jayme of ADFIAP, Philippines. By the end of 1979, the WFDFI opened its secretariat at the Instituto de Crédito Oficial (ICO) in Madrid, then headed by Rafael Bermejo Blanco.

José Elías Gallegos became its first secretary general. Since then there have been eleven other secretaries general as shown below. The headquarters of WFDFI was in Madrid from 1979 until 1994, when a decision was taken to give WFDFI a rotating Secretariat by having the secretariat assumed by each regional association for a three-year period. The Secretariat has been with ADFIAP in Manila from 1995 to 1998 for three years and it then moved to ADFIMI in Istanbul in 1999 to 2002, with Orhan Sagci from Turkey serving as Secretary General. In May, 2002, Rommel Acevedo, Secretary General of ALIDE became the Secretary General of WFDFI until 2009. Octavio B. Peralta of ADFIAP was elected as the Secretary General of WFDFI in Istanbul in 2009 for a period of three years commencing 1 January 2010 to 2013 and Mr. Nuri Birtek, Secretary General of ADFIMI was elected at the BOG meeting in Tokyo on October 11, 2012. He served for three years from January 2013-2016.

In its Board of Governors (BoG) meeting held at the ALIDE Headquarters in Lima, Peru on October 7, 2015, the World Federation of Development Finance Institutions (WFDFI) has designated ADFIAP as its Secretariat starting in January 2016. It is the second time since 2010 that ADFIAP has been appointed as WFDFI Secretariat. Consequently, ADFIAP Secretary General, Octavio B. Peralta, has been named as WFDFI Secretary General also for the second time in five years.

WFDFI Chairmen

  • Vicente R. Jayme, Philippines,1979
  • René Amichía, Ivory Coast, 1980-1985
  • Gustavo Petricioli, Mexico, 1986-1987
  • Mohammed Aissaoui, Morocco, 1988-1989
  • Suresh S. Nadkarni, India, 1990-1992
  • Oscar Espinoza Villareal, Mexico, 1992-1993
  • Hindemburgo C.Pereira-Dinitz, Brazil, 1993-1994
  • Chang-Dal Kim, Korea, 1994-1996
  • Aswin Kongsiri, Thailand, 1996-1998
  • Saleh Ghazali, Malaysia, 1998
  • Safa Ocak, Turkey, 1999
  • Sudi Apak, Turkey, 1999-2000
  • Orhan Güleç, Turkey, 2000-2001
  • Md. Noor Yusoff, Malaysia, 2001-2002
  • Gonzalo Rivas Gómez, Chile, 2002-2003
  • William Hayden Quintero, Costa Rica, 2003-2004
  • Mario Laborín, México, 2004-2006
  • Nicolla Angelucci, El Salvador,.2006-2008
  • Luis Rebolledo, Peru. 2008-2009
  • Roberto Smith, Brasil, 2009
  • Nihal Fonseka, Sri Lanka, 2010-2012
  • Datuk Wan Azhar, Malaysia, 2012
  • M. Emin Özcan, Turkey, 2013-2015
  • Mr. Arjun Fernando, Sri Lanka, 2015-present

Secretaries General of WFDFI

  • José Elías Gallegos, Spain, 1979-1986
  • Ramón Alvarez, Spain, 1986-1989
  • Enríque Sanchez Blanco, Spain, 1989
  • Pedro San Miguel, Spain, 1990
  • José Ignacio de Ramon, Spain, 1990-1992
  • José Arnaiz, Spain, 1992-1993
  • Francisca Orosco, Spain, 1993-1994
  • Orlando Peña, Philippines, 1995-1998
  • Orhan Sagci, Turkey, 1999-2002
  • Rommel Acevedo, Peru, 2002-2009
  • Octavio B. Peralta , Philippines, 2010-2012
  • Nuri Birtek, 2013-2015
  • Octavio B. Peralta , Philippines, 2015-present

Ricardo Palma Valderrama
WFDFI Adviser